Wanted: A Career Path


image of a "career path ahead" street sign

by Staphany Cedillo, one of our spring student bloggers

For some people, choosing what major to pursue during their college years is easy. For the rest of us it can be frustrating trying to decide amidst the variety of career and academic choices.

Throughout grade school, the message was clear: go to college. What major to pursue in college was not so clear. One week I was certain I wanted to follow in the footsteps of Architect Frank Gehry and the next week I was positive I wanted to be a Dallas Morning News journalist.

Attending a community college first was really one of the best decisions I could have made. Community college has given me the opportunity to discover new career fields and ideas. I’ve had the flexibility to do this because I’ve been able to focus on my core curriculum without the pressure of selecting a concentration.

I’ve learned a lot through volunteering, internships and jobs. Not only are these opportunities great for résumé building, exploring will also help you discover both what you are interested in and what you are not. VolunteerMatch.org and Idealist.org are resources that have been very useful in my search.

Don’t be afraid to take on new positions and do different things. Not only will you acquire new skills, you just might discover your ideal career!

1 Comment

Filed under Why DCCCD?

One response to “Wanted: A Career Path

  1. Pingback: Selecting a Transfer School | DCCCD Student Info Blog

Leave a Reply

